The University of Cincinnati Is a Regionally Accredited University

The University of Cincinnati is fully accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The HLC is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: 800-621-7440 toll-free or 312-263-7462

Why Regional (vs. National) Accreditation Is Important to You

In the United States, colleges and universities voluntarily seek accreditation from nongovernmental bodies. The goal of accreditation is to ensure that education provided by institutions of higher education meets acceptable levels of quality. There are two types of accreditation: institutional and specialized. Institutional accreditation is provided by regional and national associations of schools and colleges. The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is one such body that conducts institutional, regional accreditation.

There are six regional associations, each named after the region in which it operates (Middle States, New England, North Central, Northwest, Southern, Western). The Higher Learning Commission is part of the North Central Association. Regional associations are independent of one another, but they cooperate extensively and acknowledge one another’s accreditation.

National accreditation commissions differ from the regional in that the national focus on particular kinds of institutions (for example, trade and technical colleges, and religious colleges and universities). National accreditation standards are typically less defined when compared with those of regional accrediting bodies.

One major disadvantage of a school being nationally accredited is the inability to transfer credits between multiple institutions if you choose to continue your education at a different school or in a different program. The University of Cincinnati is regionally accredited, and because of these more defined educational standards, credits for similar courses will usually transfer between traditional colleges.

CAEP Accreditation

University of Cincinnati is accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) 2010 Massachusetts Ave NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036; phone 202-223-0077; fax 202-296-6620;

call to action

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.